Swiss Federal Institute for Forest, Snow and Landscape Research WSL
 
The Swiss Federal Institute for Forest, Snow and Landscape Research WSL is part of the ETH Domain. Approximately 600 people work on the sustainable use and protection of the environment and on the handling of natural hazards.

The Research Unit Land Change Science studies patterns, causes and processes of landscape change. The Research Group Land-Use Systems is looking in the SILAR-project from winter/spring 2023, for the duration of two years (extension for another year possible), for a
PostDoc in Urban Land-Use Simulation 80-100% (f/m/d)
You will simulate regional urban land-change scenarios in 2-D and 3-D, combining novel modelling approaches and digital land-use plan data. One of the main tasks is to develop methods for implementing density and land-use mix regulations for specific zones or parcels in urban land-use simulations. For this, you will work together with a PhD student, who is looking at the diversity of current land use regulations in European municipalities and exploring possibilities for standardisation. You will publish your results in scientific journals and present them at international conferences.
In addition to a PhD degree in urban modelling, geography, planning or equivalent, you have strong skills in urban land-change simulation and programming. A good publication record with respect to your career stage and research interests in the upcoming digital transformation in spatial planning complete your profile. Furthermore, you have a very good command of English and knowledge of other European languages is an asset. You are also interested in developing innovative, problem-oriented and pragmatic solutions, and motivated to work in an interdisciplinary and international working environment.

Please send your complete application to Beatrice Lamprecht, Human Resources WSL, by uploading the requested documents through our webpage. Applications via email will not be considered. Anna Hersperger, Tel. +41 (0)44 739 25 15, will be happy to answer any questions or offer further information. The WSL strives to increase the proportion of women in its employment, which is why qualified women are particularly called upon to apply for this position. The job advertisement remains online until the position is filled.
 
Zürcherstrasse 111, CH-8903 Birmensdorf
Website
Company-Video

Eidg. Forschungsanstalt für Wald, Schnee und Landschaft WSL
 
Die Eidgenössische Forschungsanstalt für Wald, Schnee und Landschaft WSL gehört mit rund 600 Mitarbeitenden zum ETH-Bereich. Sie befasst sich mit der nachhaltigen Nutzung und dem Schutz der Umwelt sowie mit einem verantwortungsvollen Umgang mit Naturgefahren.

Die Forschungseinheit Landschaftsdynamik untersucht Muster, Ursachen und Prozesse des Landschaftswandels. Die Forschungsgruppe Landnutzungssysteme sucht im Projekt SILAR ab Winter/Frühjahr 2023, für die Dauer von 2 Jahren (Verlängerung um ein weiteres Jahr möglich), eine/-n
PostDoc Simulation urbaner Landnutzung 80-100% (w/m/d)
Sie werden regionale urbane Landnutzungsszenarien in 2-D und 3-D simulieren, indem Sie neuartige Modellierungsansätze und digitale Landnutzungsplandaten kombinieren. Eine der Hauptaufgaben ist die Entwicklung von Methoden zur Umsetzung von Regulierungen zu Dichte und Nutzungsmix für bestimmte Zonen oder Parzellen in solchen Simulationen. Dazu arbeiten Sie mit einem Doktoranden zusammen, der die Vielfalt der aktuellen Flächennutzungsregelungen in europäischen Kommunen untersucht und Möglichkeiten zur Standardisierung erforscht. Ihre Ergebnisse werden Sie in wissenschaftlichen Fachzeitschriften veröffentlichen und auf internationalen Konferenzen präsentieren.
Neben einem Doktorat in Stadtmodellierung, Geografie, Planung oder einem gleichwertigen Fachverfügen Sie über gute Kenntnisse in der Simulation und Programmierung städtischer Systeme. Eine gute Publikationsleistung in Bezug auf Ihr Karrierestadium und Forschungsinteressen an der bevorstehenden digitalen Transformation in der Raumplanung runden Ihr Profil ab. Ferner besitzen Sie sehr gute Englischkenntnisse und Kenntnisse in weiteren europäischen Sprachen sind erwünscht. Ebenfalls haben Sie Interesse an der Entwicklung innovativer, problemorientierter und pragmatischer Lösungen und sind motiviert, in einem interdisziplinären und internationalen Arbeitsumfeld zu arbeiten. 

Bitte richten Sie Ihre vollständige Bewerbung an Beatrice Lamprecht, Human Resources WSL, indem Sie die verlangten Unterlagen über unser Bewerbungsportal einreichen. Bewerbungen per E-Mail sowie auf dem Postweg werden nicht berücksichtigt. Für Fragen steht Ihnen Anna Hersperger, Tel. +41 (0)44 739 25 15, gerne zur Verfügung. Die WSL strebt eine Erhöhung des Frauenanteils an, weshalb qualifizierte Frauen nachdrücklich aufgefordert werden, sich zu bewerben.
 
Zürcherstrasse 111, CH-8903 Birmensdorf
Website
Firmenvideo