Swiss Federal Institute for Forest, Snow and Landscape Research WSL
 
The Swiss Federal Institute for Forest, Snow and Landscape Research WSL is part of the ETH Domain. Approximately 600 people work on the sustainable use and protection of the environment and on the handling of natural hazards.

Forests are the largest terrestrial carbon sink on Earth. Though trees are most often credited for this carbon storage, vast networks of belowground fungi facilitate this by providing trees with growth-limiting nutrients, most notable are ectomycorrhizal fungi, which inhabit the roots of most trees. Some ectomycorrhizal fungi form belowground networks that connect different root systems and exchange carbon, nutrients, and water from relatively resource rich to poor zones. Ectomycorrhizae are so essential that many trees will not survive without them, raising deep concerns for how these fungi respond to climate change.

The Research Unit Forest Dynamics assesses the effects of changing environmental conditions on forest ecosystem functioning. In the Ecosystem Ecology research group, starting November 2022 or upon agreement, we are offering a position as
PhD student in the field of mycorrhizal ecology
You will work within a recently funded SNSF Ambizione project to examine how background climate affects forest responses to warming and drought, and how variation in ectomycorrhizal communities, functional genes, and networks shapes this response. The ultimate goal of this project is to understand how the total soil mycobiome, but particularly the ectomycorrhizal fungal component, responds to climate warming and drought and how this response affects tree growth and death. A variety of DNA metabarcoding and metagenomic techniques will be used alongside isotopic analyses to trace plant-fungal carbon flows. You will work with recent Ambizione fellow Dr. Mark Anthony at the Ecosystem Ecology Group of Dr. Arthur Gessler at WSL in Birmensdorf.
You should hold a Master’s degree in a relevant field to the project (e.g., biology, environmental sciences), a recognized driver’s license in Switzerland, and are comfortable speaking and writing in English. This PhD position is best for someone not only interested in conducting extensive field work across Switzerland, but also someone keen to develop and use sophisticated molecular and bioinformatic methods to study fungi. Previous experience using molecular techniques, analyzing [genomic] data using command-line tools and R, and culturing fungi is desirable but not a requirement. A strong desire to learn is most important.

Please send your complete application to Stefania Pe, Human Resources WSL, by uploading the requested documents through our webpage. Applications via email will not be considered. Mark Anthony (mark.anthony@wsl.ch), will be happy to answer any question. The WSL strives to increase the proportion of women in its employment, which is why qualified women are particularly called upon to apply for this position.
 
Zürcherstrasse 111, CH-8903 Birmensdorf
Website
Company-Video

Eidg. Forschungsanstalt für Wald, Schnee und Landschaft WSL
 
Die Eidgenössische Forschungsanstalt für Wald, Schnee und Landschaft WSL gehört mit rund 600 Mitarbeitenden zum ETH-Bereich. Sie befasst sich mit der nachhaltigen Nutzung und dem Schutz der Umwelt sowie mit einem verantwortungsvollen Umgang mit Naturgefahren.

Wälder sind die größte terrestrische Kohlenstoffsenke der Erde. Obwohl Bäume am häufigsten für diese Kohlenstoffspeicherung verantwortlich gemacht werden, tragen riesige Netzwerke unterirdischer Pilze ebenfalls dazu bei, indem sie die Bäume mit wachstumslimitierenden Nährstoffen versorgen. Die sogenannten Ektomykorrhizapilze sind so wichtig, dass viele Bäume ohne sie nicht überleben können – wir brauchen mehr Informationen darüber wie diese Pilze auf den Klimawandel reagieren.

Die Forschungseinheit Walddynamik untersucht die Auswirkungen von sich ändernden Umweltbedingungen auf die Funktionsweise von Waldökosystemen. In der Forschungsgruppe Ökosystemökologie bieten wir ab November 2022 oder nach Vereinbarung eine Stelle als
Doktorand/-in auf dem Gebiet der Ökologie der Mykorrhiza (w/m/d)
Sie werden im Rahmen eines kürzlich vom SNF geförderten Ambizione-Projekts untersuchen, wie Wälder auf Erwärmung und Trockenheit reagieren und wie Variationen von Ektomykorrhiza-Gemeinschaften, funktionellen Genen und Netzwerken diese Reaktionen beeinflussen. Ziel dieses Projekts ist es zu verstehen, wie das gesamte Bodenmykobiom, insbesondere aber die Ektomykorrhizapilz-Komponente, auf Klimaerwärmung und Trockenheit reagiert und wie diese Reaktion das Wachstum und die Mortalität von Bäumen beeinflusst. DNA-Metabarcoding- und Metagenom-Techniken werden zusammen mit Isotopenanalysen eingesetzt, um die Kohlenstoffflüsse zwischen Pflanzen und Pilzen zu verfolgen. Sie werden mit dem Ambizione-Stipendiaten Dr. Mark Anthony in der Gruppe Ökosystemökologie von Dr. Arthur Gessler an der WSL in Birmensdorf arbeiten.
Sie sollten einen Master-Abschluss in einem für das Projekt relevanten Fachgebiet (z. B. Biologie, Umweltwissenschaften) besitzen, einen in der Schweiz anerkannten Führerschein haben und gut Englisch sprechen und schreiben können. Diese Doktorandenstelle eignet sich am besten für jemanden, der nicht nur an umfangreichen Feldarbeiten in der Schweiz interessiert ist, sondern auch an der Entwicklung und Anwendung anspruchsvoller molekularer und bioinformatischer Methoden zur Untersuchung von Pilzen. Frühere Erfahrungen mit molekularen Techniken, der Analyse von [genomischen] Daten mit Kommandozeilen-Tools und R sowie der Kultivierung von Pilzen sind wünschenswert, aber keine Voraussetzung. Die Freude Neues zu lernen ist am wichtigsten.

Bitte richten Sie Ihre vollständige Bewerbung an Stefania Pe, Human Resources WSL, indem Sie die verlangten Unterlagen über unser Bewerbungsportal einreichen. Bewerbungen per E-Mail sowie auf dem Postweg werden nicht berücksichtigt. Für Fragen steht Ihnen Mark Anthony (mark.anthony@wsl.ch) gerne zur Verfügung. Die WSL strebt eine Erhöhung des Frauenanteils an, weshalb qualifizierte Frauen nachdrücklich aufgefordert werden, sich zu bewerben.
 
Zürcherstrasse 111, CH-8903 Birmensdorf
Website
Firmenvideo