WSL Institute for Snow and Avalanche Research SLF
 
The WSL Institute for Snow and Avalanche Research SLF is part of the Swiss Federal Institute for Forest, Snow and Landscape Research WSL and thus of the ETH Domain. WSL focuses on the sustainable use and protection of the environment and on the handling of natural hazards. WSL employs approximately 600 people, of whom 140 work at SLF in Davos.

The SLF research group RAMMS develops simulation software to model gravity driven natural hazards, most importantly snow avalanches, debris flows and rockfalls. As part of our on-going research activities in the field of rockfall dynamics and mitigation, we are seeking a
Geotechnical or Geostructural Engineer “Rockfall protection systems” (80-100%)
You develop numerical models to simulate rockfall interaction with dams, flexible barriers and trees. You understand statistical methods of data analysis and can validate numerical models so that you can support the group in field experiments. You will be part of a small multidisciplinary team of engineers, physicists, mathematicians and software developers working in Davos. The employment is provisionally limited to two years.

You hold an engineering degree (masters) in the field of geotechnical engineering and have experience with computational methods, including finite element methods and rigid-body dynamics. Knowledge of classical limit theories in geotechnical analysis is also required. You have a good command of C++ and an understanding of parallel programming methods. A good command of written and spoken English and proficiency in at least one national language are expected. A desire to work and live in a mountain environment is essential.


Please send your complete application to Clemens Güdel, Human Resources WSL/SLF, by uploading the requested documents through our webpage. Applications via email will not be considered. Andrin Caviezel, phone +41 (0)81 417 03 61, will be happy to answer any questions or offer further information. The WSL strives to increase the proportion of women in its employment, which is why qualified women are particularly called upon to apply for this position.
Flüelastrasse 11, CH-7260 Davos Dorf
Company-Video

WSL-Institut für Schnee- und Lawinenforschung SLF
 
Das WSL-Institut für Schnee- und Lawinenforschung SLF gehört zur Eidg. Forschungsanstalt WSL und damit zum ETH-Bereich. Die WSL befasst sich mit der nachhaltigen Nutzung und dem Schutz der Umwelt sowie mit einem verantwortungsvollen Umgang mit Naturgefahren. Sie beschäftigt rund 600 Mitarbeitende, davon 140 am SLF in Davos.

Die SLF-Forschungsgruppe RAMMS entwickelt Simulationssoftware zur Modellierung von Massenbewegung, vor allem von Schneelawinen, Murgängen und Steinschlag. Im Rahmen unserer laufenden Forschungsaktivitäten auf dem Gebiet der Steinschlag-dynamik und -schutz suchen wir eine/n
Bauingenieur/-in ETH «Steinschlagschutzsysteme» (80-100%)
Sie entwickeln numerische Modelle zur Simulation der Interaktion von Steinschlag mit Dämmen, Bäumen und weiteren natürlichen Hindernissen. Die Anwendung statistischer Methoden der Datenanalyse sowie die Validierung numerischer Modelle sind weitere Aufgaben, womit Sie die Gruppe bei Feldversuchen unterstützen können. Sie werden Teil eines kleinen multidisziplinären Teams von Ingenieuren, Physikern, Mathematikern und Softwareentwicklern am Standort Davos sein. Die Anstellung ist vorerst auf 2 Jahre befristet.
Sie verfügen über ein abgeschlossenes Ingenieurstudium auf dem Gebiet der Geotechnik und haben Erfahrung mit Berechnungsmethoden, einschließlich Finite-Elemente-Methoden und Starrkörperdynamik. Kenntnisse der Berechnung von oberen und unteren Grenzwerten nach den Grenzgleichgewichtsmethoden sind Voraussetzung. Ebenfalls sind Sie mit C++ und mit verschiedenen parallelen Programmierungs-methoden vertraut. Gute Englischkenntnisse in Wort und Schrift und Kenntnisse in mindestens einer Landessprache werden erwartet. Sie können es sich gut vorstellen in den Bergen zu leben und zu arbeiten.


Bitte richten Sie Ihre vollständige Bewerbung an Clemens Güdel, Human Resources WSL/SLF, indem Sie die verlangten Unterlagen über unser Bewerbungsportal einreichen. Bewerbungen per E-Mail sowie auf dem Postweg werden nicht berücksichtigt. Für Fragen steht Ihnen Andrin Caviezel, Tel. +41 (0)81 417 03 61, gerne zur Verfügung. Die WSL strebt eine Erhöhung des Frauenanteils an, weshalb qualifizierte Frauen nachdrücklich aufgefordert werden, sich zu bewerben.
Flüelastrasse 11, CH-7260 Davos Dorf
Firmenvideo