Swiss Federal Institute for Forest, Snow and Landscape Research WSL
 
The Swiss Federal Institute for Forest, Snow and Landscape Research WSL is part of the ETH Domain. Approximately 600 people work on the sustainable use and protection of the environment and on the handling of natural hazards.

In accordance with its mandate, the Directorate has defined the development of an environmental data portal as a strategic focus for WSL. The central goal of the initiative is to add value to WSL’s rich reservoir of environmental monitoring and research data. By appointment, the WSL offers a position for 2 years (with option of extension) as

Full-Stack Software Developer Environmental Data Portal (50-80%)
You will be part of a small and innovative team in charge of the further development of the environmental data portal EnviDat (www.envidat.ch). You will be responsible for the implementation and testing of various technical aspects, in particular for the management, registration and storage of (spatial) research data and associated metadata. You will develop new functionalities for (meta)data import and for connecting and integrating existing (spatial) data, (geo)databases and information systems, with a focus on Web-GIS. You are expected to assist the technical coordinator in the development of innovative concepts and solutions for the integration of large raster and vector geospatial research data. You will also be involved in related smaller projects which are being developed directly with research units of WSL. The maintenance and adaptation of existing EnviDat frontend, backend and databases will also be part of your responsibilities. Moreover, you will provide user support.
You have a degree in geomatics, geography or computer science (or comparable experience) and you are skilled in software development and in the technical implementation of computer science projects. You possess excellent frontend development skills (JavaScript, CSS, vue.js); as well as skills in backend programming (Python and/or Java). Experience with spatial databases (PostgreSQL/PostGIS), open-source GIS libraries and frameworks (GDAL/OGR, Leaflet), scientific data visualization and community-based software development (especially CKAN) is a plus. You enjoy working in a small and agile team with new technologies. You feel confident to work with a high degree of autonomy to bring in your innovative ideas for improving the EnviDat services for WSL scientists. You are reliable, a team player and fluent in German and English.

Please send your complete application to Stefania Pe, Human Resources WSL, by uploading the requested documents through our webpage. Applications via email will not be considered. Gian-Kasper Plattner, phone +41 (0)44 739 23 08, or Ionuț Iosifescu, phone +41 (0)44 739 28 71, will be happy to answer any questions or offer further information. The WSL strives to increase the proportion of women in its employment, which is why qualified women are particularly called upon to apply for this position.
Zürcherstrasse 111, CH-8903 Birmensdorf
Company-Video

Eidg. Forschungsanstalt für Wald, Schnee und Landschaft WSL
 
Die Eidgenössische Forschungsanstalt für Wald, Schnee und Landschaft WSL gehört mit rund 600 Mitarbeitenden zum ETH-Bereich. Sie befasst sich mit der nachhaltigen Nutzung und dem Schutz der Umwelt sowie mit einem verantwortungsvollen Umgang mit Naturgefahren.

Die Direktion hat im Rahmen ihres Leistungsauftrags den Aufbau eines Umweltdaten-Portals als strategischen Schwerpunkt der WSL festgelegt. Dabei steht die Inwertsetzung der WSL-Umweltdatensätze im Fokus. Die WSL bietet nach Vereinbarung für 2 Jahre (mit Option auf Verlängerung) eine Stelle als
Full-Stack Software Entwickler/-in Environmental Data Portal (50-80%)
Sie sind Teil eines kleinen und innovativen Teams, das für die Weiterentwicklung des Umweltdatenportals EnviDat (www.envidat.ch) verantwortlich ist. Sie sind verantwortlich für die Implementierung und das Testen verschiedener technischer Aspekte, insbesondere für die Verwaltung, Registrierung und Speicherung von (räumlichen) Forschungsdaten und zugehörigen Metadaten. Sie entwickeln neue Funktionalitäten für den (Meta-)Datenimport und für die Anbindung und Integration bestehender (Geo-)Daten, (Geo-)Datenbanken und Informationssysteme, mit dem Schwerpunkt Web-GIS. Sie unterstützen den technischen Koordinator bei der Entwicklung innovativer Konzepte und Lösungen für die Integration großer Raster- und Vektor-Geodaten aus der Forschung. Sie werden auch in verwandte kleinere Projekte involviert sein, die direkt mit Forschungseinheiten der WSL entwickelt werden. Die Wartung und Anpassung von bestehendem EnviDat Frontend, Backend und Datenbanken gehört ebenfalls zu Ihren Aufgaben. Zudem leisten Sie Anwendersupport.
Sie verfügen über ein abgeschlossenes Studium in Geomatik, Geographie oder Informatik (oder vergleichbares Studium) und haben Interesse und Erfahrung in der Software-Entwicklung und in der technischen Umsetzung von Informatikprojekten. Sie besitzen sehr gute Kenntnisse in der Frontend-Entwicklung (JavaScript, CSS, vue.js); sowie Kenntnisse in der Backend-Programmierung (Python und/oder Java). Erfahrungen mit räumlichen Datenbanken (PostgreSQL/PostGIS), Open-Source-GIS-Bibliotheken und -Frameworks (GDAL/OGR, Leaflet), wissenschaftlicher Datenvisualisierung und Community-basierter Software-Entwicklung (insbesondere CKAN) sind ein Plus. Sie haben Spass an der Arbeit in einem kleinen und agilen Team mit neuen Technologien. Sie trauen sich zu, mit einem hohen Mass an Eigenverantwortung zu arbeiten und Ihre innovativen Ideen zur Verbesserung der EnviDat-Dienste für WSL-Forschende einzubringen. Sie sind zuverlässig, ein Teamplayer und sprechen fliessend Deutsch und Englisch.

Bitte richten Sie Ihre vollständige Bewerbung an Stefania Pe, Human Resources WSL, indem Sie die verlangten Unterlagen über unser Bewerbungsportal einreichen. Bewerbungen per E-Mail sowie auf dem Postweg werden nicht berücksichtigt. Für Fragen stehen Ihnen Gian-Kasper Plattner, Tel. +41 (0)44 739 23 08, oder Ionuț Iosifescu, Tel. +41 (0)44 739 28 71, gerne zur Verfügung. Die WSL strebt eine Erhöhung des Frauenanteils an, weshalb qualifizierte Frauen nachdrücklich aufgefordert werden, sich zu bewerben.
Zürcherstrasse 111, CH-8903 Birmensdorf
Firmen-Video