Swiss Federal Institute for Forest, Snow and Landscape Research WSL
 

The Swiss Federal Institute for Forest, Snow and Landscape Research WSL is a part of the ETH domain. Approximately 500 people work on the sustainable use and protection of the environment and on the handling of natural hazards.


The Forest Dynamics Research Unit, which investigates the effects of environmental changes on forest ecosystems, is looking for a

Database specialist / software engineer for the management of research data (80%)

Within the research programme 'Long-term Forest Ecosystem Research (LWF)' you will be in charge of the information management of scientific data from several research projects and platforms in forest ecosystem and biodiversity research. You will be responsible for the design, implementation and maintenance of complex databases and data access control, as well as for the development and support of various software applications. You will be the interface between data management, analysis and visualization, you will be involved in the scientific projects and you will train and support users.

You have a degree in computer science or environmental sciences/biology with in-depth knowledge of the respective other field. Furthermore, you have advanced knowledge in database management, data visualization and analysis. You enjoy working in an international environment, are a team player, have a lot of initiative and have already acquired practical and implementation knowledge after your studies.


Please send your complete application to Stefania Pe, Human Resources WSL, by uploading the required documents through our webpage. Applications sent by e-mail or by post will not be considered. If you have any questions, please contact Arthur Gessler, phone +41 (0) 44 739 28 18. The WSL strives to increase the proportion of women in its employment, which is why qualified women are particularly called upon to apply for this position.

Zürcherstrasse 111, CH-8903 Birmensdorf
Company-Video

Eidg. Forschungsanstalt für Wald, Schnee und Landschaft WSL
 

Die Eidgenössische Forschungsanstalt für Wald, Schnee und Landschaft WSL gehört mit rund 500 Mitarbeitenden zum ETH-Bereich. Sie befasst sich mit der nachhaltigen Nutzung und dem Schutz von Landschaften und Lebensräumen sowie einem verantwortungsvollen Umgang mit Naturgefahren.


Die Forschungseinheit Walddynamik, welche die Auswirkungen von Umweltveränderungen auf Waldökosysteme untersucht, sucht per sofort oder nach Vereinbarung eine/n
Datenbankspezialist/-in / Software Ingenieur/-in für das Management von Forschungsdaten (80%)
Im Rahmen des Forschungsprogramms ‚Langfristige Waldökosystemforschung (LWF)’ sind Sie für das Informationsmanagement wissenschaftlicher Daten aus mehreren Forschungsprojekten und -plattformen in der Waldökosystem- und Biodiversitätsforschung zuständig. Sie sind verantwortlich für Design, Implementierung und Wartung komplexer Datenbanken und Regelung des Datenzugriffs, sowie für die Entwicklung und Betreuung verschiedenster Softwareapplikationen. Sie sind die Schnittstelle zwischen Datenhaltung und -analyse und Visualisierung, bringen sich in die Bearbeitung wissenschaftlicher Fragestellungen ein und schulen und unterstützen Anwender und Datennutzer.

Sie verfügen über ein abgeschlossenes Studium im Bereich Informatik oder Umweltwissenschaften/Biologie mit vertieften Kenntnissen des jeweils anderen Bereiches. Des Weiteren haben Sie vertiefte Kenntnisse in Datenbankmanagement, Datenvisualisierung und -analyse. Sie arbeiten gerne in einem internationalen Umfeld, sind ein Teamplayer, verfügen über viel Eigeninitiative und haben bereits Praxis- und Umsetzungskenntnisse nach Ihrem Studium erworben.


Bitte richten Sie Ihre vollständige Bewerbung an Stefania Pe, Human Resources WSL, indem Sie die verlangten Unterlagen über unser Bewerbungsportal einreichen. Bewerbungen per E-Mail sowie auf dem Postweg werden nicht berücksichtigt. Für Fragen steht Ihnen Arthur Gessler, Tel. +41 (0) 44 739 28 18, gerne zur Verfügung. Die WSL strebt eine Erhöhung des Frauenanteils an, weshalb qualifizierte Frauen nachdrücklich aufgefordert werden, sich zu bewerben.

Zürcherstrasse 111, CH-8903 Birmensdorf
Firmen-Video