Swiss Federal Institute for Forest, Snow and Landscape Research WSL
 
The Swiss Federal Institute for Forest, Snow and Landscape Research WSL is a part of the ETH domain. Approximately 500 people work on the sustainable use and protection of the environment and on the handling of natural hazards.

The Research Group of Landscape Ecology at ETH Zurich and WSL conducts research on the processes shaping and maintaining species diversity within landscapes. The “BIGEST” project investigate the mechanisms that shaped global gradients of biodiversity in tetrapods. For this project we are looking for two years for a
PostDoc - in spatial species diversification simulations
You will pursue research in spatial diversification modelling and in spatial dynamic species diversification simulations. You will implement the different biological hypotheses as sub-models in the spatial diversification model and into an R-package and explore the behaviour of the spatial diversification model. Furthermore, you will evaluate differences between mechanisms using a machine learning and support the supervision of a PhD student.
You have a PhD degree in biodiversity sciences, with knowledge in spatially explicit process-based modelling of biodiversity and R programming, species distribution modelling, machine learning, phylogenetic analyses and niche evolution. You will work in an international team and have published in international journals and excellent English skills.

Please send your complete application to Sabine Hirt, Human Resources WSL, by uploading the requested documents through our webpage. Applications via email will not be considered. Loïc Pellissier, Tel. +41 44 739 2391, loic.pellissier@wsl.ch, will be pleased to answer your questions. The WSL strives to increase the proportion of women in its employment, which is why qualified women are particularly called upon to apply for this position.
Zürcherstrasse 111, CH-8903 Birmensdorf
Company-Video

Eidg. Forschungsanstalt für Wald, Schnee und Landschaft WSL
 
Die Eidgenössische Forschungsanstalt für Wald, Schnee und Landschaft WSL gehört mit rund 500 Mitarbeitenden zum ETH-Bereich. Sie befasst sich mit der nachhaltigen Nutzung und dem Schutz von Landschaften und Lebensräumen sowie einem verantwortungsvollen Umgang mit Naturgefahren.

Die Forschungsgruppe Landschaftsökologie der ETH Zürich und der WSL erforscht die Prozesse zur Gestaltung und Erhaltung der Artenvielfalt in Landschaften. Das Projekt "BIGEST" untersucht die Mechanismen, die globale Gradienten der Biodiversität bei Tetrapoden geformt haben. Für dieses Projekt suchen wir für 2 Jahre eine/n
PostDoc - Simulationen zur räumlichen Diversifikation von Arten
Sie betreiben Forschung in der Modellierung der räumlichen Diversifikation und mit räumlich-dynamischen Simulationen zur Diversifikation von Arten. Sie setzen verschiedene biologische Hypothesen als Submodelle im räumlichen Diversifikationsmodell und in ein R-Paket um und untersuchen das Verhalten des räumlichen Diversifikationsmodells. Des Weiteren bewerten Sie die Unterschiede zwischen den Mechanismen durch maschinelles Lernen und helfen bei der Betreuung eines Doktoranden mit.
Sie verfügen über eine Dissertation in Biodiversitätswissenschaften, haben Kenntnisse in räumlich expliziter prozessbasierter Modellierung der Biodiversität und R-Programmierung und bringen Erfahrung in der Modellierung der Artenverteilung, maschinelles Lernen und phylogenetische Analysen sowie Nischenevolution mit. Sie arbeiten in einem internationalen Team, weisen sehr gute Englischkenntnisse sowie Erfahrungen im wissenschaftlichen Publizieren vor.

Bitte richten Sie Ihre vollständige Bewerbung an Sabine Hirt, Human Resources WSL, indem Sie die verlangten Unterlagen über unser Bewerbungsportal einreichen. Bewerbungen per E-Mail sowie auf dem Postweg werden nicht berücksichtigt. Für Fragen steht Ihnen Loïc Pellissier, Tel. +41 44 739 2391, loic.pellissier@wsl.ch, gerne zur Verfügung. Die WSL strebt eine Erhöhung des Frauenanteils an, weshalb qualifizierte Frauen nachdrücklich aufgefordert werden, sich zu bewerben.
Zürcherstrasse 111, CH-8903 Birmensdorf
Firmen-Video