Swiss Federal Institute for Forest, Snow and Landscape Research WSL
 

The Swiss Federal Institute for Forest, Snow and Landscape Research WSL is a part of the ETH domain. Approximately 500 people work on the sustainable use and protection of the environment and on the handling of natural hazards.


The Forest Resources and Management research unit records and analyses changes in the landscape and in the forest. For the research group Sustainable Forestry (former Forest Production Systems) we seek a

Scientist in Sustainable Forestry for Ecosystem Services

You investigate forest management solutions for ecosystem services, including: sustainable forestry in montane environments under the challenges of climate change, optimization methods, related IT tools and models. You publish your results in international scientific journals and national implementation-oriented media. Co-operation with ETH, technical universities and forestry practice, implementation of research results (e.g. in teaching, courses) as well as the acquisition of projects in national/international context are relevant tasks. You will also work in close contact with forest owners and enterprises, and practitioners.

You have a University degree in forestry (University, ETH), a doctorate and a technical-economic orientation. You have a high affinity for research and you are competent and experienced in scientific publishing. You have solid forestry expertise and are familiar with the management of European forests, in particular mountain forests. Good knowledge of Swiss forests and connection with the Swiss forest environment is an advantage. You are creative, socially competent and well networked in forest science and forestry. A good command of written and spoken German and English, plus another Swiss national language is essential. Experiences in statistics and computer programming are desirable.


Please send your complete application to Stefania Pe, Human Resources WSL, by uploading the requested documents through our webpage. Applications via email will not be considered. Dr. Janine Schweier, Tel. +41 (0)44 739 24 78, will be happy to answer any questions or offer further information. The WSL strives to increase the proportion of women in its employment, which is why qualified women are particularly called upon to apply for this position.

Zürcherstrasse 111, CH-8903 Birmensdorf
Company-Video

Eidg. Forschungsanstalt für Wald, Schnee und Landschaft WSL
 

Die Eidgenössische Forschungsanstalt für Wald, Schnee und Landschaft WSL gehört mit rund 500 Mitarbeitenden zum ETH-Bereich. Sie befasst sich mit der nachhaltigen Nutzung und dem Schutz von Landschaften und Lebensräumen sowie einem verantwortungsvollen Umgang mit Naturgefahren.


Die Forschungseinheit Waldressourcen und Waldmanagement erfasst und analysiert Zustände und Veränderungen der Wälder. Für die Forschungsgruppe Nachhaltige Forstwirtschaft suchen wir ab sofort einen/eine

Wissenschafter/-in in nachhaltiger Forstwirtschaft für Ökosystemdienstleistungen

Sie erarbeiten Lösungen zur Verbesserung der Ökosystemdienstleistungen der Wälder durch forstliches Management. Dies beinhaltet: nachhaltige Bewirtschaftung von Gebirgswäldern unter den Herausforderungen des Klimawandels, Optimierungsmethoden, IT Tools und Modelle. Sie publizieren Resultate in internationalen wissenschaftlichen Zeitschriften sowie in nationalen umsetzungsorientierten Medien. Kooperationen mit der ETH, den technischen Universitäten und der Forstpraxis, Umsetzung der Forschungsergebnisse (z.B. in Lehre, Kursen) sowie Projektakquise im nationalen und internationalen Kontext sind relevante Aufgaben. Sie werden außerdem in engem Kontakt mit Waldbesitzern, Forstbetrieben und Praktikern arbeiten.

Sie haben einen Hochschulabschluss in Forstwissenschaften (Universität, ETH), eine Promotion und eine technisch-ökonomische Ausrichtung.Sie haben eine große Affinität für Wissenschaft und sind kompetent und erfahren im wissenschaftlichen Publizieren. Sie verfügen über fundierte forstliche Fachkenntnisse und sind vertraut mit der Bewirtschaftung europäischer Wälder, insbesondere der Gebirgswälder. Gute Kenntnisse über die Schweizer Wälder und gute Beziehungen zur Schweizer Forstwirtschaftsind vorteilhaft.Sie sind kreativ, sozial kompetent und gut in Forschung und Praxis vernetzt. Sehr gute Deutsch- und Englischkenntnisse in Wort und Schrift sowie Kenntnisse in einer weiteren Schweizer Nationalsprache sind essentiell. Erfahrung in Statistik sowie Computerprogrammierung runden Ihr Profil ab.


Bitte richten Sie Ihre vollständige Bewerbung an Stefania Pe, Human Resources WSL, indem Sie die verlangten Unterlagen über unser Bewerbungsportal einreichen. Bewerbungen per E-Mail sowie auf dem Postweg werden nicht berücksichtigt. Für Fragen steht Ihnen Dr. Janine Schweier, Tel. +41 (0)44 739 24 78, gerne zur Verfügung. Die WSL strebt eine Erhöhung des Frauenanteils an, weshalb qualifizierte Frauen nachdrücklich aufgefordert werden, sich zu bewerben.

Zürcherstrasse 111, CH-8903 Birmensdorf
Firmen-Video