WSL Institute for Snow and Avalanche Research SLF
 
The WSL Institute for Snow and Avalanche Research SLF is part of the Swiss Federal Institute for Forest, Snow and Landscape Research WSL and thus of the ETH Domain. WSL focuses on the sustainable use and protection of landscapes and habitats, and a responsible approach to natural hazards. WSL employs approximately 500 people, of whom 140 work at SLF in Davos.


The Research Group Snow Hydrology investigates the dynamics of snow water resources and snowmelt in alpine watersheds. The team is offering two PhD positions within the SNF Project ”Snow-Atmosphere” starting on January/February 2020 and is therefore looking for

PhD student Snow Hydrology
Wind-driven snow processes

Working at the interface of atmospheric and snow modeling your goal will be to improve the representation of wind-driven processes in snow-hydrological modeling. You will design a coupled modeling system of atmospheric and multilayer snow models to include windsnowfall interactions for seasonal snow cover predictions over largeriver basins. You will further develop a model for preferential deposition of snowfall based on terrain-induced wind fields. In the framework of the “Snow-Atmosphere” project, you will also support field experiments to investigate small-scale variability of wind-driven snow processes. This will lead to an advanced understanding on the relative importance of wind-snowfall interactions for the seasonal snow cover predictions and the mass balance of glaciers. You will present your scientific results in journal publications and at international conferences.

You hold a master’s degree in environmental physics, atmospheric sciences or in a similar field. Expertise in the use of numerical models (spatially-distributed atmospheric and/or snow models) is desirable but not a mandatory requirement. You have good oral and written communication skills in English and preferably also in German. You are well organized, and operate independently in a structured and efficient way. You appreciate working as part of a motivated, interdisciplinary team that operates at the interface between science and practice.


Please send your complete application to Jasmine Zimmermann, Human Resources WSL/SLF, by uploading the requested documents through our webpage. Applications via email will not be considered. Rebecca Mott, project manager, e-mail: mott[at]slf.ch, will be happy to answer any questions or offer further information. The WSL strives to increase the proportion of women in its employment, which is why qualified women are particularly called upon to apply for this position.

Flüelastrasse 11, CH-7260 Davos Dorf
Company-Video

WSL-Institut für Schnee- und Lawinenforschung SLF
 
Das WSL-Institut für Schnee- und Lawinenforschung SLF gehört zur Eidg. Forschungsanstalt WSL und damit zum ETH-Bereich. Die WSL befasst sich mit einem verantwortungsvollen Umgang mit Naturgefahren sowie der nachhaltigen Nutzung und dem Schutz von Landschaften und Lebensräumen. Sie beschäftigt rund 500 Mitarbeitende, davon 140 am SLF in Davos.

Die Gruppe Schneehydrologie untersucht die Funktion von Schnee im Wasserkreislauf von alpinen Einzugsgebieten. Das Team offeriert 2 Doktoranden-Stellen im Rahmen des SNF Projektes “Schnee und Atmosphäre“ mit Start im Januar/Februar 2020 und sucht dafür eine/n
Doktorand/in Schneehydrologie
Wind und Schneeverteilung
Sie arbeiten an der Schnittstelle zwischen Atmosphären und Schneemodellierung. Das übergeordnete Ziel dieser Doktorarbeit ist die hochaufgelöste Vorhersage der saisonalen Schneeverteilung für grosse Einzugsgebiete und insbesondere die verbesserte Abschätzung des lokalen Niederschlagsfeldes im komplexen Gelände. Dabei untersuchen Sie den Einfluss des lokalen Windes auf die räumliche Verteilung des Schneefalls und entwickeln ein Model für die präferentielle Ablagerung des Schnees. Hierzu entwickeln Sie ein gekoppeltes Modellsystem aus atmosphären- und physikalisch basierten Schneedeckenmodellen. Außerdem unterstützen Sie Feldexperimente, um den Effekt des kleinräumigen Windfeldes auf die Schneeverteilung zu untersuchen. Damit soll nicht nur die räumliche Variabilität der saisonalen Schneedecke besser vorhergesagt, sondern auch der potentielle Einfluss der präferentiellen Ablagerung für die Massenbilanz alpiner Gletscher, besser abgeschätzt werden. Ihre wissenschaftlichen Resultate präsentieren Sie in Zeitschriften und auf internationalen Konferenzen.
Sie verfügen über einen Hochschulabschluss in Umweltphysik oder in einem ähnlichen Bereich. Vorkenntnisse in der Verwendung/Entwicklung numerischer Modelle sind von Vorteil. Sie besitzen gute Englischkenntnisse in Wort und Schrift, arbeiten selbstständig, effizient sowie strukturiert. Ebenfalls schätzen Sie die Arbeit in einem interdisziplinären Team an der Schnittstelle zwischen Wissenschaft und Praxis.

Bitte richten Sie Ihre vollständige Bewerbung an Jasmine Zimmermann, Human Resources WSL/SLF, indem Sie die verlangten Unterlagen über unser Bewerbungsportal einreichen. Bewerbungen per E-Mail sowie auf dem Postweg werden nicht berücksichtigt. Für Fragen steht Ihnen Rebecca Mott, Projektleiterin, E-Mail: mott(a)slf.ch, gerne zur Verfügung. Die WSL strebt eine Erhöhung des Frauenanteils an, weshalb qualifizierte Frauen nachdrücklich aufgefordert werden, sich zu bewerben.
Flüelastrasse 11, CH-7260 Davos Dorf
Firmen-Video